If you haven’t preordered Marvel’s Avengers, don’t fret. You can still try out the game starting today on either your PlayStation 4, Xbox One, or PC.

The beta will include four of the game’s single-player Hero Missions, three HARM Room challenges, four War Zones, and five Drop Zones. War and Drop Zones can be played solo with any of the heroes as AI, or cooperatively with up to four players.

You’ll get some free rewards as well if you link your Square Enix and Epic Games accounts. (A Square Enix account is required to play the beta.) By doing that and competing the three HARM Room challenges you’ll earn the Hulk Smashers Pickaxe with Hulkbuster style in Fortnite.

With the closed beta in the books already, several patches and updates have gone live for this weekend’s event. Full patch notes can be found on the Marvel’s Avengers Website, but what follows are some of the highlights.

  • Multiple improvements and optimizations made to matchmaking
  • Several crash fixes
  • Fixed rare issue of players losing certain gear
  • Improvements to vaulting
  • Decreased amount of motion blur during sprinting and fighting

The beta goes live at 9 PM (local time) today and ends at 9 PM (local time) on August 23rd.

Marvel’s Avengers will release on September 4th for the PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Google Stadia, and PC. It will also be available on both the PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X when those consoles launch this holiday.

About The Author

Amanda G.

Mom, Army wife, talkative introvert and retail veteran are the best adjectives to describe this Midwestern native. Amanda has been playing games since Tomb Raider back in the ’90s. Fast forward 20-some-odd years, you’ll find her with a little less time on her hands, but she’ll still play anything with a great story and memorable characters. (Bonus points if there’s a female protagonist involved!) In her free time you’ll find her playing tabletop RPG’s with friends, and hanging out with her husband Adam, son Will, and Boykin Spaniel/Corgi/Blue Heeler mix Arya Bark!