After years of begging Sony is finally allowing PSN users to change their usernames. But be warned, it comes with risks that could lead to lost trophies and DLC.

To change your username, here are the instructions from Sony:

On PS4:

Step 1: From your PS4 go to [Settings].

Step 2: Select [Account Management] > [Account Information] > [Profile] > [Online ID].

Step 3: Enter an Online ID of your choice or choose from one of the suggestions.

Step 4: Follow the on-screen prompts to complete the change.

On a Browser:

Step 1: Sign in to your PlayStation Network account and select PSN Profile in the menu.

Step 2: Select the Edit button that’s next to your Online ID.

Step 3: Enter an Online ID of your choice or choose from one of the suggestions.

Step 4: Follow the on-screen prompts to complete the change.

Sony has provided some helpful answers to predictable questions:

Name changes can only be made on a PS4 or web browser.
The first change is free, every other name change will cost $9.99 or $4.99 for PS Plus members.
Members can display their own PSN name for 30 days on their new PSN name.
Players are not limited to a specific amount of name changes.
Names that violate the Terms of Service will be reverting back to the original name for free.
You can revert back to previous PSN IDs.
Child accounts cannot change their PSN username.

However, there are a number of risks. For example, players may face trophy progress being halted, losing save data, access to digital currency in purchased games, DLC content becoming unavailable, and some games becoming unavailable both online and offline. There’s only a small amount of games Sony has listed as having these problems: Little Big Planet 3, The Golf Club 2, Everybody’s Golf, and Onrush.

About The Author

Adam S
Sr.Staff Writer

Adam is a Senior Staff Writer for GamerAssaultWeekly with over 5 years of experience in writing and is completely obsessed with video games. He holds a BA from Brooklyn College and lives in NY.