Alongside Update 2.05, Overwatch Season 4 has just arrived– get for more skill ratings ups and downs. This time, hitting the bottom or staying within the top rankings will be harder. There’s some new changes you’ll have to make note of this season.

Higher ranked players will need to worry about skill decay even more now. When skill decay was introduced in Season 2, players in Diamond, Master, and Grandmaster tiers needed to play a competitive match at least once every seven days. Now, if your skill rating is over 3000, you’ll need to complete seven matches a week.

According to the post, when you complete a match, the amount of time until skill rating decay occurs is “pushed back by 24 hours.” You can play all seven matches in a single day, and choose to sit out the remaining six days of the week. This change was made in order to shake up the rankings and prevent people from sitting on higher ranks as easily.

Hitting the lowest and highest possible skill ratings, 0 and 5000, has gotten harder. Blizzard noted that they’re trying to incentivize against hitting the lowest possible skill rating and people who deliberately throw matches to earn low ratings. Players with a skill rating lower than 500 will not have their rating displayed.

Blizzard has also tinkered with respawn times. One of the most common defensive strategies is to throw yourself at the objective, even when you’re outnumbered by the attacking team. The tactic would stall the attacking team’s progress obnoxiously, rather than change the outcome of the match.

To combat this, Blizzard added a respawn timer for when attackers outnumber defenders on the point. “If the point hasn’t been captured and the defense hasn’t regained the advantage after a specified time, the defender respawn timer will slowly begin to increase until it hits a maximum value. If the defense manages to gain the upper hand, the timer resets to zero,” the explanation reads. This way, it will be easier for attackers to regain control of the objective. The change also encourages defenders to group up properly before trying to regain the objective.

Finally, here’s your Season 4 ranked rewards. For participating, you’ll earn a Hanamura spray and player icon. You can see them below.

As usual, you’ll earn CP depending on your rank at the end of the season. If you want to buy those golden weapons with your CP, here’s how much CP you’ll get with each rank.

Bronze – 100CP
Silver – 200CP
Gold – 400CP
Platinum – 800CP
Diamond – 1200CP
Master – 2000CP
Grandmaster – 3000CP

We wish you the best of luck with your placement matches.