Roster changes are an important part to eSports. With most careers never lasting longer than 5 years, many players will see themselves move from team to team in an attempt to find that perfect lineup. Most of this takes place during a “Post-tournament shuffle,” where teams begin swapping, or downright ejecting, players after a major tournament. Even the Dota 2 The International 2015 champions saw a lineup change in their quest to become the best team possible. This is just a phenomenon that fans expect to occur at the end of every season.

However, it’s pretty uncommon to see a team declare that they will not experience any changes in their lineup. It’s even more uncommon when that team just lost the game’s most prestigious event.

But that’s exactly what did yesterday. The official Team Twitter account made a quick announcement that their Dota 2 roster will be remaining the same as it has been since April, after taking home roughly seven digit winnings and placing 5th-6th at The International 5.

The current VP lineup is as follows:

Olexandr “DkPhobos” Kucheria
Ilya “Illidan” Pivcaev
Sergei “God” Bragin
Ilya “Lil” Ilyuk
ARtem “fng” Barshak

About The Author

Sr. Esports Writer

Connor is a self-proclaimed Star Wars historian, Fatal Frame enthusiast and crazy cat lady that's fascinated by the Kpop mashups on YouTube. Professional gaming is something that's fascinated him ever since he was a wee lad, especially when it came to fighting games, so now he rambles on about it in the form of articles that use way too many commas.